Dear Dad…

I did not finish my post yesterday. *Audience gasps* I know, I know, I’m a slacker. Part of the problem is that I get distracted checking out new blogs. I’ve followed a bunch of new and interesting blogs since starting the Blogging 101 course! What makes today’s post interesting (to me, at least) is that I’m typing it with two fingers buddy taped together. I wish there was a cool story to go along with the wound, but honestly, I sprained my middle finger picking up a 30 pound bag of dog food. Laughing is totally acceptable. I thought it would get better if I babied it a little, but a week later it still hurts….thus the taping.

1420740518611-283821438

Nice, huh?

Moving along.

Did I mention that I’m a do-it-yourself-er? It can get somewhat extreme sometimes. For example, I made almost all the extras for our wedding. Wedding party gifts, tutus for the flower girls, decorations, centerpieces, baskets for the flower girls, bows for their hair, wedding favors, invitations, RSVP cards, on and on. It got to the point that my husband was just shaking his head at me. I’m also a tiny bit OCD, so it was difficult for people to help me with much.

My “do-it-yourself-ness,” extends to areas of my life other than crafting, as well. I grew up watching and assisting my dad with the remodel of his house. I use the word “remodel” lightly because the house has basically been deconstructed and reconstructed at this point. Originally it had a root cellar, now it has a full size basement. The house is over 100 years old. It now has a full size shop and an attached garage. Almost the entire interior has been updated and redone. 99% of this work was done by my dad and his friends. I’m not exaggerating when I say that he’s one of the most amazing people I know. If he doesn’t know how to do something, the man will get a book and figure it out. Cars, construction, electrical, plumbing, you name it. He’s saved thousands of dollars by doing the work himself. And I grew up learning how tools worked and how to use them.

Now we come to the reason for this post. Our Blogging 101 assignment today is to write to our “dream reader.” When I read the assignment this morning I thought, “Really?! I don’t know who I want to read my blog other than the people who already read it! I mean, I love new followers and I would love to have more, but how do you pick someone specific that you DREAM of reading your blog?” I thought and thought then decided that I would just write the post I had been thinking about and skip the assignment until later. I was going to talk about remodeling the 1971 trailer we live in and all the work we’ve done to it (which I will still be writing about later, for those interested). Once I got a few sentences into this post though, it hit me like a brick. My dad. That’s who my dream reader would be.

So you might be sitting there thinking, “So just ask him to read it. What’s the big deal?” That’s tough, I’m not sure what the big deal is. I know he probably would read it if I asked him, but just the concept is scary. Maybe it wouldn’t be funny enough? Maybe he wouldn’t think it was interesting enough? Maybe it’s just not his thing to read a blog, even one written by his daughter? I don’t know. That’s who my dream reader would be though. My dad. And the dream would be that he would read it and find it interesting and funny and that he would be proud of it because I’d done it.

-Jess

One thought on “Dear Dad…

Share your thoughts!

