First book of 2015

Brent Weeks The Black Prism: Page 82, third full sentence:

If she got too cold, he knew, she would draft sub-red, but she was saving her strength.

Let me preface this post by saying that I absolutely LOVE Brent Weeks as an author. If you haven’t read any of his books, I highly recommend them. My suggestion would be to take notes on his characters and how they relate to each other though, because he can be hard to follow. He fully creates a world that draws you in, and characters that do the same. I read The Night Angel trilogy first, and I was sold after the first book. This excerpt is from The Black Prism, which is the first book in the Lightbringer series.

untitled

Also, I just realized that this is turning out to be a book review of sorts. I haven’t yet figured out what The Black Prism is about entirely. I’m only a few pages into the book. Though if I want to reach my reading goals for the year then I better get started on reading something. Hopefully I’ll find the time to start and finish this book this week and I’ll let you know what it was all about.

In the meantime, I’d like to know, who is/are your favorite author(s) to read and what makes them compelling to you?

-Jess

If you’re interested in the other series I mentioned, it’s shown below.

untitled2
Brent Weeks: The Night Angel Trilogy

 

Share your thoughts!

