Sobriety BBQ Surprise Success!

First, I need to apologize for missing yesterday’s Wordless Installation. I had planned to post a photo in the afternoon, but then my subject matter ended up not being available. I’ll try to post one later today to make up for it.

As some of you may remember, yesterday was my husband’s 5 year sobriety birthday. In celebration of his five years of struggling to not succumb to his addiction, I threw him a surprise party. His birthday was earlier this month, so we did the standard dinner celebration. He was out of town at his parent’s house, so we drove up there after I got off work to “surprise” him, but he wasn’t too surprised. I have a 7-year-old that just can’t contain her excitement when it comes to surprises. So this time I didn’t tell her we were having a surprise party, or even a regular party.

I set up a private event on Facebook and invited all of his close friends in town, plus some family members. I planned a simple BBQ with hamburgers, kid-friendly, and asked people to please keep it a surprise and let me know ASAP if they could make it. My parents were kind enough to host the BBQ at their house, and my mom helped a lot with food. Everyone pitched in a little something.

A few days ago I asked Batdad what he wanted for his Sobriety dinner. I figured this would “throw him off the trail” so-to-speak. He knows that I’m a celebrator. I love to celebrate things, and I love to give gifts, so if I didn’t at least plan dinner, I knew he would know something was up. He picked corned beef and cabbage, so I even went to the grocery store and bought corned beef. I’m all about the follow through on a surprise. Then, I spent the day making excuses.

I was supposed to put the corned beef in the crockpot while I was on my lunch yesterday, but I “forgot.” So I sent him a text message telling him I was so sorry that I had forgotten and that I would just take him out to dinner because if I put it in after I got off work it would be late before it was ready to eat. He was fine with that. After I got off I made a mad dash to 47 places to pick up our kids and last minute BBQ items then headed down to my parent’s house to do burger topping prep.

About half an hour before he got off work I texted him again telling him that mom and dad had a late birthday present for him so he should just meet us at their house so he could open it and then we could go to dinner. Plus it would be an excuse to not stay at their house for too long (my dad REALLY likes to visit some days). He said that was fine too. *YES! HE’S TOTALLY BUYING IT!* At this point I should mention that he’s kind of difficult to surprise or buy presents for. He usually guesses what I’m getting him or that I’m planning something.

He called me after he got off work to tell me that he was running home to change his shirt then he would be down to my parent’s and right after we got off the phone the last two guests showed up. When he pulled up I could see the surprise on his face at all of the people, all of his friends, that were there. A bunch of us were on the front porch chatting, so at that point it was pretty obvious there was a party. He was very grateful though and he was definitely wearing his emotions on his face at that point.

It ended up being a very enjoyable, laid back BBQ with friends that we hadn’t seen in a while. I’m glad that he was surprised, and I am very glad that he enjoyed it. Not to mention it got me quite a few “best wife ever” points. I couldn’t be more proud of him and all that he’s accomplished since he made the decision to live sober. We would definitely not be where we are in life if he hadn’t. Actually, we wouldn’t even be together, so I’m very very thankful.

Are any of you surprise people? Party planners? I’d love to hear your surprise/party stories!

51D00878439A94C010663E8F83AD0FE6

Share your thoughts!

