A is for Afterlife by Ingrid Michaelson

Okay! Welcome to April and the Blogging from A to Z Challenge. You can read more details about the challenge here. For the letter A and the first day of the challenge, I’ve chosen a pretty uplifting song. Afterlife by Ingrid Michaelson is fun and upbeat, but I love the message of it the most.

We all, we all, we’re gonna be alright
We got the fight in us
We all, we all, we’re gonna live tonight
Like there’s no tomorrow ’cause we’re the afterlife

She (and her directors I would assume) have done a great job with this particular music video and show people facing their “biggest fears” with a little help from Ingrid herself, as well as the camera crew and some other trained professionals. Staged or not, both the song and the video made me want to get up and join her little party. I really felt like it sent a message about not being afraid and living each moment to the fullest. If you’re interested in the full set of lyrics to the song, you can read them right over here. What did you think of the song? Did it make you want to shake your groove thing, or was it not really your thing at all?

51D00878439A94C010663E8F83AD0FE6

14 thoughts on “A is for Afterlife by Ingrid Michaelson

  1. Hi Jess, happy A to Z Challenge! That’s a good video. The music’s not to my taste, but Ingrid is definitely a good singer.

    • It is VERY poppy. Which initially made me question whether or not I was going to use it, but the video itself is what actually sealed it for me. You’ll have to pop back by later in the month. I’m pretty sure I have something folky/country planned. 🙂

  2. HI Jess, good to be here today, I am here via this years a to z blog pages,
    Nice start with a lovely and meaningful video. The director and the team
    well presented it. thanks for sharing thing. Yes people around us are in
    the grip of such fears. nice to watch and read your page
    Keep sharing
    I am Philip@Philipscom
    A Minion to A to Z Challenge @J L Campbells’s Joyful Brigade
    Season’s Greetings.
    ~ Philip

  3. Oooh! I have never heard of her or that song, but it made me cry like a baby..

    I am afraid of not being “good enough” for my children! I didn’t have a good relationship with my Mum and so I have tried to be the opposite of how I was raised so that my children wont grow up not liking me. But as they grow up and start to branch off into their young adulthood, I am scared that they won’t like me as they grow older.. So instead of that girl in the video clip being scared to disappoint her Mum, I am scared to disappoint my children!

    • I think that worrying whether or not you’re being a good parent makes you a good parent. Bad parents don’t care. As a parent, everyone makes mistakes, but moving on from them and learning from them is all you can do in those situations. Remind them how much you love them often. I’m sure you’re a great parent, if for no other reason than because you worry about it!

Share your thoughts!

